Visiting arrangements

More information is available on the visiting page

Search Wye Valley NHS Trust

Wye Valley NHS Trust


We provide a full range of diagnostic services to all of Herefordshire together with some areas of Powys, Shropshire and Monmouthshire. Patients are referred to the department from a variety of sources such as GPs, hospital wards, clinics and the Accident and Emergency department.

Outline of the Department

We provide a full range of diagnostic services to all of Herefordshire and some areas of Powys, Shropshire and Monmouthshire.

Our department is well-equipped with two Multi-Slice CT scanners, MRI scanner, Ultrasound scanners, Nuclear Medicine service, Fluoroscopy, Mammography and Plain Film Radiography.  During 2015-2016 we performed 160,908 examinations.

We are a fully digital department allowing images to be stored and viewed throughout The County Hospital and some Community Hospitals. We have electronic links to local GP surgeries to allow them to view reports as soon as they are completed by our Radiologists. We provide a Plain Film Radiography service for local GPS at Ross, Leominster and Ledbury Community Hospitals and an ultrasound service at Leominster, Ledbury and Builth Wells.

The Radiology Team consists of 81 members of staff including 8 Radiologists, 37 Radiographers and 36 Support Staff. We have a dedicated Reception Team and several waiting areas with play tables for children. Appointments are held between 8.00am and 8.00pm Monday to Friday (extending to 10.00pm for some procedures) and between 8.30am and 12.30pm on Saturday’s.

Links with other Departments

We maintain close links with all the hospital wards, clinics and departments as well as the local GPs.

Contact Details


Tel: 01432 364014

Monday - Friday
8:00am to 6:00pm

Saturday & Sunday
We are presently operating a 7-day service,
including weekends

Booking Centre

For all appointments/waiting time queries

Tel: 01432 364027

Monday - Friday
8:00am to 6:00pm


Dr Joy Thomas

Dr Gillian Rowe

Dr Philip Garwood

Dr Paul Grech

Dr Julie Davis

Dr Raveesh Hanasoge

Dr Amdad Ahmed

Dr Suraj Menon

© Wye valley NHS Trust 2024