Search Wye Valley NHS Trust

Board Members' Biographies

Russell Hardy, chairman

Russell Hardy became chairman of Wye Valley NHS Trust in November 2016. He is also the chairman of South Warwickshire NHS FT’s Board and Council of Governors, having taken on the roles in 2015. Russell has a wealth of experience from working in both NHS trusts and private companies, with a firm understanding of working in large organisations and overseeing strategic developments.

Howard Oddy, director of finance and resources

Howard has been Director of Resources at Wye Valley NHS Trust since April 2011 having previously been Director of Finance and Information at Hereford Hospitals NHS Trust between July 2007 and March 2011. Prior to moving to Hereford, Howard had been Director of Finance at Gloucestershire Royal NHS Trust (1997 – 2002) and at Cheltenham and Tewkesbury PCT (2002-2006) and he was Interim Director of Finance at Gloucestershire PCT between 2006 and 2007. Howard is a CIPFA accountant and has worked in the NHS since 1984.

Lucy Flanagan, director of nursing 

Lucy Flanagan joined the Trust as director of nursing in August 2016.

Sue Smith, director of HR and OD

 Sue Smith joined the Trust as director of HR and OD in October 2016.

Dr Charles Ashton, medical director

Dr Charles Ashton joined this Trust as medical director in December 2016. He is also medical Director of South Warwickshire NHS FT, a role he has held since January 2014. He graduated with a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery after studying at Middlesex Hospital Medical School between 1976 1981. Dr Ashton is also a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians. Previously, Dr Ashton has held the post of medical director for 14 years in Worcestershire and has extensive experience of service review having clinically led the recent one in Worcestershire. Dr Ashton also chairs the Solihull clinical reference group for urgent care and is a secondary care representative on the Solihull Clinical Commissioning Group.

Jon Barnes, chief operating officer 

Jon Barnes joined the Trust at the end of March 2015 to take up the post of Chief Operating Officer. Prior to this he was Deputy Chief Operating Officer at University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust. Jon joined the NHS in 1986 as a student nurse, qualifying in 1989 and worked in a number of clinical nursing roles at the George Eliot Hospital and Walsgrave Hospital before moving to operational management at University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire in 2003 where he has operationally managed a wide range of clinical and clinical support services; he has held a corporate role for the last five years. 

Mark Waller, non executive director

Mark Waller joined the Trust Board as a Non-Executive Director in August 2011 and was Chairman of the Remuneration Committee. Mark is Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director.  After graduating in law, Mark pursued a career in international Human Resource Management in the engineering, chemicals, telecommunications and financial services sectors. For the last 20 years he was based in Paris and Brussels, latterly as a member of the Executive Committee for SWIFT, the global provider of secure messaging services and interface software to the financial services industry. He has wide experience in leading change, developing talent and delivering integrated HR solutions. Mark is a Trustee of Herefordshire Mind and lives with his family in Ledbury.

Frank Myers, non executive director

Frank Myers is a graduate, was the founder of Myers Road Safety Ltd. and continues to take his inventions in the road safety field to world markets. In 1995, he received the MBE for services to road safety and to export. As a Director of MCP Systems Consultants Ltd, he has been responsible for introducing new high-tech approaches to asset tracking into the health service and, in 2009, won the E Health Insider Award for Innovation. Frank is Chairman of the Trust's Charitable Funds Committee and Quality Committee.

Richard Humphries, non executive director

Richard Humphries joined the Trust as Non Executive Director in November 2014 and is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee.  Richard’s professional background is social work and his 35 year career in health and social care includes a period as Director of Social Services in Herefordshire and Chief Executive of the Herefordshire Health Authority until 2002.

He spent five years in senior roles in the Department of Health and since 2009 has worked for the King’s Fund, an influential health policy think tank in London where he is currently Assistant Director, Policy.

He is a recognised national commentator and writer on social care and health issues. As a longstanding resident of the county, Richard is keen to apply his knowledge and national experience to the challenges facing the Trust in delivering good services for local people. 

Andrew Cottom, non executive director

Andrew Cottom joined the Trust as Non Executive Director in November 2014 and is Designated Chairman of the Audit Committee.  Andrew trained as an accountant in the West Midlands Regional Health Authority area and pursued a very successful career just across the border in NHS Wales. 

He has worked at a very senior level in complex NHS organisations, covering most aspects of the NHS. This has been in both urban and very rural settings, the latter being in Powys where he was Chief Executive of the Powys Health Board for four years.

Following a national role he undertook on a part time basis, Andrew left the NHS at the end of August 2014 to enable him to spend more time on voluntary work, mainly associated with his local church in Abergavenny.

Christobel Hargraves, non executive director

Christobel has devoted 36 years of her working life to roles closely related to the health service, in the public, private and tertiary sector. This experience was first gained as a registered nurse, followed by a variety of roles in health IT, implementing administrative and clinical systems into acute hospitals. Further experience was gained at the Audit Commission ensuring that resources were put to best use in the health service.

As Chief Executive of NCEPOD (National Confidential Enquiry into Patient Outcome and Death), she worked with a wide range of clinicians on such studies as ‘Who Operates When’ and ‘Functioning as a Team’. In later years she was ordained a minister in the Church of England, serving as a Rector and Area Dean prior to relocating to mid Powys.  

Christobel chairs the Clinical Quality committee and is a member of the Remuneration committee. She is also the Freedom to Speak Up Guardian for the Trust and is the Chairman of the Local Maternity System Board for Herefordshire and Worcestershire. 

Nicola Foreman, associate director of coporate governance/company secretary

Nicola Foreman has been Company Secretary at Wye Valley NHS Trust since April 2011 having previously been Company Secretary at Hereford Hospitals NHS Trust between May 2008 and March 2011. Nicola became the associate director of corporate governance/company secretary in September 2016.  Prior to moving to Hereford, Nicola was Group Company Secretary for the Shropshire Housing Group. Nicola qualified as member of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators (ICSA) in August 2005.


© Wye valley NHS Trust 2018